So, I’m writing for a living again, at long last…

Posted: February 2, 2012 in Travel

So, I’m writing for a living again.

I know, I can’t believe it’s happening either. It only took four goddamn years of twisting in the wind at various jobs I was only average at to make it to this point, but it’s finally reminded me of some things I needed to be reminded of:

-I can write damn near anything you ask me to, no matter what I know or don’t know about the subject, the format, the style, the tone, the voice, the whatever. I can do it.

-I’ve proven to myself that I have value in the professional world. My last stint at Microsoft made me feel worthless and obsolete when it abruptly ended through no fault of my own. Before that, the job at Amazon was overwhelming and intense, and ultimately over my head. Customer service? No, I kind of suck at that.

But I have no regrets about any of it. People like to grade out losing a job as equal to the loss of a family member. I’ve got news for all of you: They’re jobs. There are plenty of them out there, contrary to what you might’ve experienced, read or heard about. You’ll find another one.

But that’s a different topic. What I’m doing right now for Scout Analytics – writing case studies and press releases as a founding member of the company’s marketing team – has more inherent impact on my career and overall outlook as a working professional than anything has in the past four years.

Sure, working at the Seattle Times had its disadvantages, and I won’t claim to have some distorted view of the past or deny that I wasn’t always happy there. But when I got laid off, I didn’t realize it wouldn’t be until 2012 that I’d have another job in writing. If I had been told that at the time, I probably would’ve moved to Norway and become a troll hunter.

So, here I am. I’m in a world surrounded by smart people, all united by a single goal, and I am the voice of the written content. The voice – I am the only one doing any writing for the external portion of what we do.

And I’d take the time to explain what it is we DO here, but it’s…kind of complicated. And you probably don’t want to read the entire description anyway. It’s OK, you don’t have to lie…no, really, I won’t be offended….

…oh, for fuck’s sake, just read this:

http://scoutanalytics.com/index.asp

There, now you know. Or, at least, you have a vague idea. Assuming of course you aren’t a lazy TL;DR-worshipping fart dumpster and took the time to check it out. IT’S A LINK! I PROMISE IT WON’T CORRUPT YOUR HARD DRIVE AND SET YOUR HOUSE ON FIRE AND LOOT YOUR CORPSE! Har har….

I have been ruthlessly productive in my first few weeks here, and it’s thanks in large to Keenan Conrad for the nod in this place’s direction. He got brought on as a marketing manager, and I got subsequently brought on board to be his evil twin in marketing. He’s tackling marketing automation; I’m taking care of the collateral. Salespeople have already walked by my desk and said “HEY, MIKE, HOLY CRAP, GOOD JOB, I CAN’T WAIT TO SHOW THIS TO BLORGUS VON RUMPLEMINTS AT GLOBAL FINANCIAL!”

So, yes, I’m doing good things. And the other good things right now include planning another jaunt off in the direction of Sweden, Denmark and Iceland; ideally sometime in May or June. Except this time, I’m not going alone. That’s right, kids, Parker found a partner in crime – and she’s amazing.

Did I mention it’s awesome to have a significant other who’s as insane about traveling as I am? Great jumping Jesus, I never thought I’d find anyone who’d love the idea of a Scandinavian vacation; let alone someone who could keep up with my frenetic pace of planning the whole thing.

The rough plan, as of now, is to hit Copenhagen first, and then hit Sweden at some point, since it’s literally 20 minutes away from Denmark’s cozy capital. The possibility of meeting up with Mr. Pete McCollough in Stockholm remains likely, and stopping over in Iceland on the way back home for 3 or 4 days is something I probably won’t be able to say “no” to.

Who the hell am I kidding – blue lagoon, midnight sun, northern lights? No, no…no way in hell would I want to be there for any of that. Especially not with that amazing woman I love so much. I must be crazy to think such wacky thoughts, AHAHAHA….

Okay, that’s about enough of a brain dump for now, I think…more on this later, no doubt, but I felt an update was in order, especially with the recent decommissioning of my LiveJournal. (It was time, what can I say.) Be well, you animals.

Leave a Reply

